Past Programs

NEH 40th Anniversary Program

Humanities Texas and the LBJ Presidential Library celebrated the 40th anniversary of the National Endowment for the Humanities with a public program on October 27, 2005, at the LBJ School of Public Affairs Bass Lecture Hall.

NEH Chairman Bruce Cole and former chairmen Joseph D. Duffey, William R. Ferris, and Sheldon Hackney reflected on their leadership of the NEH and the Endowment’s contribution to the intellectual and cultural life of the nation. Betty Sue Flowers, director of the LBJ Library and Museum, moderated the panel discussion.

“For four decades, the NEH has supported programs and scholarship that have enriched the lives of millions of Americans,” said Michael L. Gillette, executive director of Humanities Texas. “As the state partner of the NEH, Humanities Texas is delighted to co-sponsor this event with the LBJ Library commemorating such an important educational initiative.”

On September 29, 1965, President Lyndon Baines Johnson signed the National Foundation on the Arts and Humanities Act into law, creating both the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Endowment for the Arts. Learn more about the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Former NEH chairmen panel
(Left to right) Former NEH Chairmen William R. Ferris, Sheldon Hackney, and Joseph D. Duffey with Bruce Cole. Photo by Charles Bogel.
Betty Sue Flowers
Betty Sue Flowers, former Humanities Texas board member and then director of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, moderated the panel discussion. Photo by Charles Bogel.
LBJ daughters and Bruce Cole
Lynda Johnson Robb, Bruce Cole, and Luci Baines Johnson. Photo by Charles Bogel.
Former board and Joseph Duffy
Former Humanities Texas board members Ellen Temple, Bill Wright, and The Honorable Wilhelmina Delco with former NEH Chairman Joseph Duffy. Former NEH Chairman Bill Ferris is in background. Photo by Charles Bogel.