Board of Directors

The Humanities Texas Board of Directors formulates policy, approves programs and projects, reviews grant applications, participates in fundraising, and promotes organizational activities. With the exception of six members appointed by the Governor of Texas, the twenty-eight-person volunteer board is self-perpetuating and fills vacancies through an open nominations process. Directors are selected for knowledge of or involvement in the humanities. In electing individuals to serve, Humanities Texas strives for geographical and ethnic representation and for balance between the academic and public spheres.

2015 Board of Directors

Civic leader, Houston
Author, businessman, and civic leader, San Antonio
Civic leader, Houston
Independent oil and gas exploration, Austin/Midland
Founder and general partner of Llano Partners, Ltd., Austin
Civic leader, Fort Worth
Civic leader, Waco
Former Humanities and English teacher at Marble Falls High School, Marble Falls
Professor of History at Texas A&M University, College Station
Doyle Professor in Western Civilization and director of the Liberal Arts Honors Program at The University of Texas at Austin
Scholar and Master Teacher, Huntsville
Jerome H. and Catherine E. Supple Professor of Southwestern Studies at Texas State University-San Marcos
Civic leader, Corpus Christi
Civic leader, Dallas
Attorney, Houston
Co-manager of Vanderpool Management property development firm, Midland
Executive Producer/Screenwriter, Houston
President of Texas A&M International University, Laredo
Principal of Krier Consulting Group, San Antonio
Civic leader, Amarillo
Professor of history at The University of Texas at Brownsville
Civic leader, Fort Worth
Civic leader, San Antonio
Associate professor of history at the University of Houston
Civic leader, Dallas
Civic leader, Alpine
Capital Bank, President, El Paso
President of The University of Texas at San Antonio
Texas Strategy Group, Austin
International business consultant, Houston
Civic leader, Dallas

*Gubernatorial appointee

Board meeting, fall 2011
Humanities Texas board meeting in the Julius and Suzan Glickman Room at the Byrne-Reed House in October 2011.
Board members, fall 2011
From left to right: Board members Monica Perales, Larry D. Carver, Leslie D. Blanton, Chase Untermeyer, and Nancy Cain Marcus.
Executive committee, fall 2011
Executive Director Michael L. Gillette (center) with executive committee members (left to right) Michael L. Klein, Mary L. Volcansek, Julius Glickman, and Catherine L. Robb.
Bridgewater, Carver, Broussard, fall 2011
From left to right: Board members Shirlene Bridgewater, Larry D. Carver, and Albert S. Broussard at a reception.
Board reception, fall 2011
Reception at the Byrne-Reed House for a lecture by former NEH Chairman Bruce Cole.