We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Humanities Texas Outstanding Teaching Awards! Each year, we present awards recognizing and encouraging excellence in teaching the humanities in Texas schools. Over six hundred teachers from across the state were nominated for this year's awards. During the 2023–24 school year, each winning teacher will receive $5,000 and an additional $1,000 for their school to purchase humanities-based instructional materials.

Stay tuned for upcoming newsletter features on the 2023 recipients!

2023 Outstanding Teaching Award Winners

James F. Veninga Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Scott FrankIDEA Frontier College PrepBrownsville

Julius Glickman Educational Leadership Award

Caitlin BaumgartenA&M Consolidated Middle SchoolCollege Station

Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Alicia AdkinsKempner High SchoolSugar Land
Graciela CanoHarwell Elementary SchoolLubbock
Taylor KratzMayde Creek High SchoolKaty
Emily RamserGrapevine High SchoolGrapevine
Whitney ReardonJohnston-McQueen Elementary SchoolLongview
Coralei RodriguezSpring High SchoolSpring
Cristina RubioEl Paso High SchoolEl Paso
Melissa ShelleyGruver High SchoolGruver
Wendy SierraEast View High SchoolGeorgetown
Jennifer SigerKleb Intermediate SchoolKlein

Linden Heck Howell Outstanding Teaching of Texas History Award

Julie LaCombeLubbock-Cooper Bush Middle SchoolLubbock

Award for Outstanding Early-Career Teaching

Moses HetfieldIDEA San Juan College PrepSan Juan
Katy RobersonKIPP Pleasant Grove Leadership AcademyBalch Springs
(From l to r:) Humanities Texas Executive Director Eric Lupfer, Humanities Texas board member Ginni Mithoff, U.S. Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia, 2022 OTA winner Ashley Gibson, Galena Park ISD Board Trustee Linda Clark Sherrard, and Galena Park High School Principal Kimberly Martin.
2022 OTA winner Anthony Gonzales (left) with U.S. Congressman Joaquin Castro.
2022 OTA winner Emmie Drueckhammer (left) and Humanities Texas board member Amanda S. Nobles.