Gov. Rick Perry honored the inaugural Humanities Texas Award winners and finalists in a ceremony at the Texas Capitol on January 24, 2008.

The award, given in both individual and organization categories, recognizes imaginative leadership in the humanities on a local, regional, or state level and carries a $5,000 prize.


  • Brownsville Historical Association (organization)
  • Clifton and Shirley Caldwell (individual)


  • Art's for Everyone (organization)
  • Austin Public Library (organization)
  • The Library Club of Menard (organization)
  • David Champion (individual)
  • Farid Mohammadi (individual)
  • Melissa Waddy Thibodeaux (individual)

Read general information about the Humanities Texas Award.

Rick Perry, Priscilla Rodriguez and Larry Lof of the Brownsville Historical Association, Brownsville City Commissioner Edward Camarillo, and Humanities Texas Executive Director Michael L. Gillette. Joseph R. Krier, Humanities Texas board chair, in background.
Clifton Caldwell, Gov. Perry, Shirley Caldwell, and Michael L. Gillette. Photographs by Martin Kohout.