Do you know an outstanding teacher in your school or community? Nominate him or her for one of our 2020 Outstanding Teaching Awards!

In 2020, Humanities Texas will present a total of fifteen awards to exceptional Texas K–12 humanities teachers in three different categories:

Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

This award recognizes exemplary contributions of teachers of humanities subjects in Texas elementary, middle, and high schools. (12 recipients)

Linden Heck Howell Outstanding Teaching of Texas History Award

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in the teaching of Texas history at the primary and secondary levels. This award was established in memory of Ms. Howell, former chair of the Humanities Texas Board of Directors, as a lasting tribute to her service to the organization and her commitment to the study of Texas history. (1 recipient)

Award for Outstanding Early-Career Teaching

This award recognizes exemplary contributions of early-career humanities teachers in Texas who have completed three or fewer years of teaching. (2 recipients)

All award winners will receive a $5,000 prize, with an additional $500 for their schools to purchase humanities-based instructional materials.

For more information on the awards, including eligibility and a list of past recipients, please visit the Teaching Awards section of our website or email Nominations will be accepted through December 13, 2019.

To nominate a teacher, please complete the online nomination form.

(From l ro r:) Harlingen CISD Superintendent Arturo J. Cavazos, Harlingen High School Principal Imelda Munivez, 2018 OTA winner Linda Salinas, Texas State Senator Eddie Lucio Jr., former Humanities Texas board member Nolan Perez, and Harlingen CISD School Board President Greg Powers.

(From l to r:) Former Humanities Texas Executive Director Michael L. Gillette, 2016 OTA winner Steve Davidson, and Joe Straus, former Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, at Davidson's award presentation at MacArthur High School in San Antonio. North East ISD Media Production.