Each year, Humanities Texas presents fifteen awards recognizing and encouraging excellence in teaching the humanities in Texas schools. In 2015, over 450 teachers across the state were nominated for the Humanities Texas Outstanding Teaching Awards. We are pleased to announce this year’s award recipients!

During the 2015–16 school year, each winning teacher will receive $5,000 and an additional $500 for his or her school to purchase humanities-based instructional materials.

2015 Outstanding Teaching Award Winners

James F. Veninga Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Ann MarAlamo Heights High SchoolSan Antonio

Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Becky AdamsAllen High SchoolAllen
Justin FeluxJohnson High SchoolSan Antonio
Christopher HansonSan Marcos High SchoolSan Marcos
Jacy KingChireno High SchoolChireno
Rebecca LacqueyKaty High SchoolKaty
Robin LongWindermere Elementary SchoolPflugerville
Todd MoulderBaker Middle SchoolCorpus Christi
Samantha NealCoppell High SchoolCoppell
Rebecca RyanMickey Leland College Preparatory Academy for Young MenHouston
Candace TannousCypress Woods High SchoolCypress
Lucy WestCathedral High SchoolEl Paso

Linden Heck Howell Outstanding Teaching of Texas History Award

Julie CampbellWest Ridge Middle SchoolAustin

Award for Outstanding Early-Career Teaching

Leslie GiesenschlagVandegrift High SchoolAustin
Matthew CampbellLangham Creek High SchoolHouston

For more information on the teaching awards program, including eligibility and a list of past recipients, please visit the Teaching Awards section of our website or email

Congressman Lamar Smith (right) presents an Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award to Troy Mann of Spring Branch Middle School in October 2007.
2012 award recipient Dorothy Chegwidden in her classroom at Flower Mound High School.
Left to right: Dr. Angi Williams, superintendent of schools; Wilfred J. Broussard, Jr., Board of Trustees vice president; Krystle Breden of Houston's North Shore Senior High School, 2013 teaching award recipient; June Harris, Board of Trustees member; Gene Green, U.S. congressman; Joe Stephens, Board of Trustees member; and Lindsey Waldenberg, Humanities Texas program officer. Photo by Jonathan Frey.