Each year, Humanities Texas presents fifteen awards recognizing and encouraging excellence in teaching the humanities in Texas schools. In 2016, over seven hundred teachers across the state were nominated for Humanities Texas Outstanding Teaching Awards. We are pleased to announce this year’s award recipients!

During the 2016–17 school year, each winning teacher will receive $5,000 and an additional $500 for his or her school to purchase humanities-based instructional materials.

2016 Outstanding Teaching Award Winners

James F. Veninga Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Ana Cristina MartinezLyndon B. Johnson High SchoolLaredo

Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Steve DavidsonMacArthur High SchoolSan Antonio
JP FuglerVan High SchoolVan
Angie GreenlawFlower Mound High School, Ninth Grade CampusFlower Mound
Emily GreerJackson Elementary SchoolTyler
Josephine IcaroLASA High SchoolAustin
John IrishCarroll Senior High SchoolSouthlake
Victoria RojasMission High SchoolMission
Celange SantisoGullett Elementary SchoolAustin
Cameron StephenCy-Fair High SchoolCypress
Michelle ValliereHeritage High SchoolFrisco
Laurie WagnerRogers Middle SchoolPearland

Linden Heck Howell Outstanding Teaching of Texas History Award

David NormanCoppell Middle School WestCoppell

Award for Outstanding Early-Career Teaching

Natalia CharronYES Prep WestHouston
Ashieda McKoyKIPP University Prep High SchoolSan Antonio

For more information on the teaching awards program, including eligibility and a list of past recipients, please visit the Teaching Awards section of our website or email

Lucy West, 2015 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient, poses with her students at Cathedral High School in El Paso.
2015 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient Robin Long of Windermere Elementary School in Pflugerville reads with her students.
2015 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient Justin Felux of San Antonio’s Johnson High School accompanies his students on a field trip to the San Antonio Museum of Art.
Rebecca Ryan, 2015 Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award recipient, displays her award with (left to right) Humanities Texas staff member Sam Moore, Senator Rodney Ellis's district director Jeremy Brown, and Leland Prep principal Dameion Crook.