Every year, Humanities Texas recognizes and encourages excellence in teaching through our Outstanding Teaching Awards. We hope you have enjoyed getting to know the 2016 winners whom we have featured in our e-newsletter over the past several months.

Today, we are excited to announce the recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Teaching Awards. Over six hundred teachers from across the state were nominated for this year's awards. During the 2017–18 school year, each winning teacher will receive $5,000 and an additional $500 for his or her school to purchase humanities-based instructional materials.

Stay tuned for upcoming features on the 2017 recipients!

2017 Outstanding Teaching Award Winners

James F. Veninga Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Ryan SprottThe International School of the AmericasSan Antonio

Outstanding Teaching of the Humanities Award

Nicole BriscoPleasant Grove High SchoolTexarkana
Katie CarrascoMcCallum High SchoolAustin
Jennifer ChaseThe High School for the Performing and Visual ArtsHouston
Paula DolloffHarlandale STEM Early College High SchoolSan Antonio
Margo HickmanJack Yates High SchoolHouston
Yvonne KaatzDripping Springs High SchoolDripping Springs
Victoria LongoriaDel Valle High SchoolDel Valle
Michael ShackelfordO. Henry Middle SchoolAustin
Sharon SnowtonHighlands Elementary SchoolCedar Hill
Sarah WalkerTuloso-Midway High SchoolCorpus Christi
Wes WattersColleyville Heritage High SchoolColleyville
Larry WisdomVan High SchoolVan

Linden Heck Howell Outstanding Teaching of Texas History Award

Patricia RitchieInternational Leadership of Texas: K-8 CampusFort Worth

Award for Outstanding Early-Career Teaching

Traniece Brown-WarrensJames S. Deady Middle SchoolHouston
Elizabeth CloseL. C. Anderson High SchoolAustin
Natalie FontenotReagan Early College High SchoolAustin

For more information on the teaching awards program, including eligibility and a list of past recipients, please visit the Teaching Awards section of our website or email

From l to r: Humanities Texas Executive Director Michael L. Gillette, 2016 OTA winner Angie Greenlaw, and State Senator Jane Nelson at Greenlaw's award presentation at Flower Mound High School Ninth Grade Campus.
From l ro r: Abby Morton-Garland, eleventh- and twelfth-grade principal of KIPP University Prep High School; Tina Devalk, ninth- and tenth-grade principal of KIPP University Prep High School; State Representative Justin Rodriguez; and 2016 OTA recipient Ashieda McKoy at the November 10, 2016, award presentation.
Humanities Texas Executive Director Michael L. Gillette, 2016 OTA winner Steve Davidson, and The Honorable Joe Straus, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, at Davidson's October 3 award presentation at MacArthur High School in San Antonio. North East ISD Media Production.