Humanities Texas will hold professional development workshops in Galveston, Houston, and Dallas for Texas social studies and language arts teachers.

Chapters in Nineteenth-Century Texas History

On November 10, 2016, Humanities Texas will hold a workshop in Galveston on Texas history through the Civil War. Faculty lectures will address Native Americans in Texas, the battles of the Texas Revolution, the Republic of Texas, and Texas in the Civil War. Workshop faculty includes Mark A. Goldberg (University of Houston), Stephen L. Hardin (McMurry University), Andrew J. Torget (University of North Texas), and Robert Wooster (Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi).

Teaching and Understanding Poetry

On December 6 and 7, 2016, Humanities Texas will hold one-day workshops in Dallas and Houston introducing strategies for teaching and understanding poetry. The workshop will emphasize close interaction with scholars and writers and the development of effective pedagogical strategies and engaging assignments and activities. In their lectures and afternoon seminars, faculty will place special emphasis on teaching critical reading skills. Workshop faculty includes Betty Sue Flowers (The University of Texas at Austin), Naomi Shihab Nye (American Academy of Poets), Coleman Hutchison (The University of Texas at Austin), Rob Vaughan (Virginia Foundation for the Humanities), and Sarah Cortez.

Teachers at all workshops will receive books and other instructional materials and be trained in the examination and interpretation of primary sources. Content at all of our workshops will be aligned with the TEKS. For details on eligibility, substitute and travel reimbursements, and venues or to apply online, visit the Upcoming Institutes page on the Humanities Texas website.

Surrender of Santa Anna by William H. Huddle. Courtesy of the State Preservation Board, Austin, Texas.
Coleman Hutchison leads a discussion with teachers in an afternoon seminar at the "Teaching and Understanding Poetry" workshop held at the Byrne-Reed House in October 2015.